Guaranteed To Make You Smile Click Here

Mohs Scale

The Mohs scale ranges from 1 to 10, with 1 being the softest (talc) and 10 being the hardest (diamond). Gemstones are often rated on the Mohs scale to assess their durability and susceptibility to scratches. Here is a list of some common gemstones and their corresponding Mohs hardness:

  1. Talc - Very soft
  2. Gypsum
  3. Calcite
  4. Fluorite
  5. Apatite
  6. Orthoclase
  7. Quartz
  8. Topaz
  9. Corundum (sapphire and ruby)
  10. Diamond - Very hard